Every item on this page was chosen by an ELLE editor. We may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
It’s the most wonderful time of the year for beauty looks and this year’s winter makeup trends are a return to form. Facebeats are back and better than ever, so we’re leaning into the festive, colorful, and fun vibes of the holiday season. Celebrity makeup artist and Tatcha Global Director of Artistry and Education Daniel Martin, who paints the faces of the D’Amelios, Gemma Chan, and Meghan Markle, breaks down the biggest and boldest trends for winter. From disco eyes and 2000s lipgloss to flushed cheeks and loud lipstick, your new winter beauty look awaits!
And if you’re feeling festive, also get inspired by our winter nail and hair trends here.
A post shared by Daniel Martin (@danielmartin)
“This lip paired with a kitten cat-eye feels more contemporary rather than a throwback,” says Martin. “When we’re still in masks but want some color, a blue-based red gives any lip undertone a pop without feeling overwhelming.”
Try this look:
Tatcha The Kissu Lip Mask, $28; sephora.com
SHOP NOW
A post shared by karol rodriguez (@karolscorner)
Try this look:
Fenty Beauty Gloss Bomb, $19; sephora.com.
SHOP NOW
A post shared by Priscilla Ono (@priscillaono)
Try this look:
Mented Cosmetics Gloss for Grownups, $50; mentedcosmetics.com.
SHOP NOW
A post shared by Theo Turner (@theeislandboi)
Try this look:
Bite Beauty Yaysayer Plumping Lip Gloss, $25; sephora.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by Daniel Martin (@danielmartin)
“Cream color on the cheeks adds a pop of glow but also hydrates dry winter skin,” Martin explains. “My new obsession with my fingers (for all skin tones) is Kjaer Weis Cream Blush in Ravishing. A swipe of champagne radiance!”
Try this look:
Kjaer Weis Cream Blush, $56; kjaerweis.com

SHOP NOW

A post shared by Katie March (@ktiemrch)
Try this look:
Rare Beauty Stay Vulnerable Melting Cream Blush, $21; sephora.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by Janice Kinjo (@janicekinjo)
Try this look:
Live Tinted Huestick In Balance, $24; livetinted.com

SHOP NOW

A post shared by Danessa Myricks Beauty Makeup (@danessa_myricks)
Try this look:
Danessa Myricks Beauty Vision Flush Blush, Eyeshadow, and Lip Color, $20; sephora.com
SHOP NOW
A post shared by Daniel Martin (@danielmartin)
“For the eyes, I’m loving a flashback to the 70s,” Martin says. “Shades in emerald, golds and copper add new metallic dimensions to any eye design.”
Try this look:
Dior 5 Couleurs Couture, $62; sephora.com

SHOP NOW

A post shared by MICHAEL ANTHONY (@manthony783)
Try this look:
Pat McGrath Labs Mothership V Eyeshadow Palette, $125; amazon.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by Hung Vanngo (@hungvanngo)
Try this look:
Makeup By Mario Master Metallics Eyeshadow Palette, $48; sephora.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by Hailey Rhode Baldwin Bieber (@haileybieber)
Try this look:
Simi Haze Eye Play Sticker Pack, $50; simihazebeauty.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by Daniel Martin (@danielmartin)
“After almost two years in masks, think of this as lipstick liberation!” says Martin. “Any color and any texture that gives the lips center stage is on trend this winter. One of my favorites lipsticks right now is Jason Wu Beauty’s Hot Fluff Lipstick in Danish. This is a matte plum shade that looks great on many skin tones but is also versatile enough on the eyes, lips and cheeks. I love using this as an eyeshadow base to build more payoff and longevity with my looks.”
Try this look:
Jason Wu Beauty Hot Fluff Lipstick, $14.69; target.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by Nyma Tang (@nymatang)
Try this look:
The Lip Bar Conceited Lipstick, $9; thelipbar.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by TOBI MAKEUP (@tobimakeup)
Try this look:
Hermès Rouge H, $67; hermes.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by KATIE JANE HUGHES (@katiejanehughes)
Try this look:
A post shared by Daniel Martin (@danielmartin)
“Bold, matte and daring is the look seen at Dior and Chanel in Paris,” Martin says. “Try using Sisley Paris’s Phyto-Khol Star Sparkling Waterproof Liner in Sparkling Black, one of my new favorite black eyeliners that doesn’t budge.”
Try this look:
Sisley Paris Phyto-Khol Star Sparkling Waterproof Liner, $59; nordstrom.com
SHOP NOW
A post shared by ALLAN AVENDAÑO (@allanface)
Try this look:
Chanel Le Crayon Khol, $30; chanel.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by Makeup Artist Patrick Ta (@patrickta)
Try this look:
Lune + Aster Dawn to Dusk Gel Eyeliner, $22; bluemercury.com
SHOP NOW

A post shared by Hung Vanngo (@hungvanngo)
Try this look:
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Black Market, $22; sephora.com
SHOP NOW

source